This monastery is known as Shwe Nan Daw Kyaung or Golden Place Monastery. It is commonly called as the Shwe Kyaung (Golden Monastery), Since the whole building was heavily gilded.
This monastery had originally been part of the palace complex of Amarapura, and was shifted to Mandalay to become the royal apartment of King Mindon. The bed chamber of King Mindon has been used as the part of it. It was in that chambar King Mindon breathed his last after the prolonged illness. King Thibaw, who succeeded his father King Mindon had it dismantled after the death of his on 1st October 1878 and with the materials mainly obtained from it he built this monastery at the cost of circa Kyats 120,000. When the construction of the building was completed on 18th November 1883 he dedicated it to the Buddhist Order as a monastery on 31st October in the same year.
This monastery has neither a hpaya-sauug (Buddha Image Shrine Room) nor a baw-ga-saung (Store Room). The whole building was heavily gilt and adorned with glass mosaic and exquisite wood-cravings. The building has considerable deteriorated but the carvings within it, especially the Ten Great Jataka scenes remain well preserved. On the outer walls can still be seen the mythical animals, dancing figures and floral design craved in bold relief.
Shwe Nan Daw Kyaung is famous because it is the only place building which left from the World War II destruction in which the Royal Place was burnt down in March 1945, and also the 19th century typical Myanmar Traditional wood-carving.