Kyauk-Ku Umin is one of the rare buildings built of sandstone in the whole of Bagan. The ground floor was built in the 11th century A. D. Against the vertical side of a deep ravine. The entrance of the temple faces north and inside the large hall is a colossal image of Buddha. Surrounding the Buddha are eight carvings of eight principal scenes in Buddha's life. The roof of it is supported by two huge stone pillars and light wells are inserted to bring light into the shrine hall. Two small entrances lead to a cave about five hundred feet behind the Buddha statue with cells for meditation. The perforated windows, pilasters, door jambs, frieze and dado have fine stone carvings such as figures of kirtimukha ogre, acanthus foliage, kinnara and kinnari. According to the stone inscription inside the temple the two upper storeys of brick were added in 1188 by King Narapatisithu.